Share this post

The West Australian Fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects and The Fulcrum. Agency Co-Founder was recognised for her lifelong commitment to social issues and practical work to overcome inequities.

In awarding the prestigious national prize on International Women’s Day, the jury said Ms. Williamson’s advocacy had made an outstanding contribution to the industry.

“Her contribution to our profession embodies the very definition of this prize,” the jury said.

“Throughout her career, Williamson has advocated for gender equity and diversity, educating the profession on our ethical responsibilities and moral obligations.

“She has also demonstrated the value of this advocacy through a more relevant model of practice that builds on these core values.”

The Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize recognises exceptional leadership and outstanding contribution of an Institute member. It was devised by the Institute’s National Committee for Gender Equity and is named after the late Queensland architect and university professor Paula Whitman, who studied women in architecture.

Ms Williamson has been active in gender advocacy roles for more than a decade, calling for workplace conditions that enable work-life balance. She was the inaugural Chair of the Institute’s National Committee for Gender Equity.

“Williamson’s reflections on the imbalance and inequities apparent on social and business fronts have resonated both inside and outside of our profession,” the jury said.

“At the same time, they have empowered an intergenerational discourse that encourages equity in all aspects of what we do.”

The jury comprised:

  • Tony Giannone (Chair) | Immediate Past National President, Australian Institute of Architects | Tectvs
  • Marika Neustupny | National Committee for Gender Equity, Co-Chair | NMBW Architecture Studio
  • Professor Julie Willis | Parlour Representative | University of Melbourne
  • Tiffany Liew | EmAGN President, Australian Institute of Architects | Andrew Burns Architecture
  • Nicole Mesquita-Mendes | SONA President, Australian Institute of Architects